Teaching your children that consequences exist: where do we draw the line? 

Well, here’s the cold truth: no one decides where we draw the line, except the parents themselves.

I can tell you, as a mother to a toddler easing her way into the terrible twos, when it comes to telling her no, or using my stern mom voice, I do not hesitate. 

However, when it comes to the way other people decide to handle the tantrums of their children and teenagers, I know better, I know that decision is up to them.

Some people, weirdly, do not know this though. 

There’s so many opinions from people when it comes to disapline – even people that aren’t parents. 

I can tell you, I was raised in a home where if I knew I fucked up, I knew what was coming. I knew every button I could push, and I knew where my parents stood. I also understood respect. Clarification here is that I wouldn’t have known had my parents not taught me. 

When it comes to whether or not a child or teenager is spanked, or grounded, or what have you, it’s not up to you, Mr Random Bystander, that’s why children have parents. Along with parenting, comes teaching:

Teaching right from wrong.

Teaching them the differences. 

Teaching them respect.
When it comes to the consequences and repercussions of the actions our children have done, that truly comes down to us. Stop telling parents how to handle the behavior – they will do what they see fit.

Stop telling parents that if they spank their child, that they’re abusive. (I know, as a child, the only way I actually learned something, was to be punished.) 

We are in the generation of technology and computers, so when a parent decides to take them away, it isn’t anyone’s place to say don’t you think you’re going too far? Because we arent.

Author: parenthoodimperfections

21, Mother of 1 crazy active toddler, expecting number two any day now. Shedding light on the things in parenthood that no one ever talks about.

Leave a Reply

